I’m on Facebook, too.   5 comments

You can now find me at Facebook if you wish to follow me. The big posts will be here, though.

In case you send me a friendship request, please give me a hint on who you are or why you’re interested in befriending me, because I get a lot of requests from people I have no idea about!


Here ^

Posted August 4, 2010 by H. H. in My Blog, Web

Tagged with

5 responses to “I’m on Facebook, too.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beware, facebook takes up a lot of precious time. Lol, jk, but make sure not to get off track study-wise! I need to be sure that at least one doctor can make it out of here successfully.

    I’ve decided to hold off on making a WP till I actually start school, so I can blog USMLE/IMG/med school related info. Anyway, I’ve linked my tumblr blog instead. Let me know how Step 1 goes!

    • Yeah, can’t deny it takes up a lot of time. I actually must say I find it a pretty stupid service. That’s why I hesitated about joining. But, I thought it could help me get to know new people with similar interests.

      Wow. Didn’t know you’re a female! (I guess?). The English language is deceiving when it comes to this part, isn’t it? But that’s an interesting blog you’ve got. I liked the funny pics about Egypt 😀

  2. Thanks for the compliment. It’s really just a “nothing specific” blog that I use to kill time. And yea, I never mentioned my gender before, not necessarily on purpose but I don’t like to mention I’m female online, especially to Egyptian guys. I don’t use my name online and I delete blog photos right after I’ve shared them with my friends. People with a more western mentality don’t find anything wrong with girls using the internet, but here it’s different. People get shocked every time I say I want to take the USMLE and go back to the US to work. It’s whatever though, because as long as my parents support my decisions and I believe that I’m doing the right thing, I don’t care if working abroad or using the internet is/is not acceptable for girls here.

    I don’t have facebook either; I guess I’m a generational anomaly that way. Only my close friends have my tumblr so I’m not worried about blogging freely there, but on facebook you’ll meet almost everyone you know, and I’m not comfortable with using the internet for the general public that way.

    Anyway, I wish you the best of luck with your Steps, I can’t wait to start med school in a month so I’ll be closer to preparing for mine.

    • I’ve ‘fixed’ your comment. It’s under FutureMD now.

      I totally understand what you mean and I respect how you care about your privacy online. I think it’s very important, not only for women, but for everyone using the internet. I also want to assure you that more and more Egyptian women are using the internet, so I think it’s no longer an issue in itself. It’s how men react to meeting a woman that is sometimes disturbing.

      Anyway, I, too, wish you the best of luck in med school. I’d also like to remind you to enjoy “the experience”, whatever it is. Don’t look at things so negatively (like I did), but just try to enjoy them. I’m saying this because I think I wasted a lot of time in criticizing things and getting depressed about them.

  3. Yea, it’s that reaction that I was talking about.

    And yea, there’s a lot to be depressed about in Egypt, but it’s at least a 7-year-long stay for me, so I’m trying to accept that this is a third world country and things won’t be perfect. It’s won’t be the “college experience” that I grew up hearing about, but I’ll survive. You did, and you’re that much closer to where you want to be.

Leave a Reply

