I’m dONE with Step ONE   5 comments

Finally, and after 8 months of full-time preparation, I took my USMLE Step 1 exam (on Wednesday). You can read about my exam experience here. I had a lot of crazy stuff going on, including:

  • Cockroach swarms in my hotel room, in the bathroom, on the bed, everywhere. Butlers aren’t really concerned, because “they are just tiny cockroaches”. Thankfully, I managed to change the room. But I’m not going to that hotel again!.
  • Taxi driver who bought the taxi for his brother-in-law to work on, but the latter won’t show up, because he has a prolonged “cold”. Of course the man had to pay the checks himself, implying “give me more money you son of a b****!”.
  • The chair in the testing center felt like a rocking chair, so I had to change it.

Anyway, I’m glad I’m done with this pretty annoying step, and looking forward to the more clinically-relevant exam, Step 2CK.

5 responses to “I’m dONE with Step ONE

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just realized you were back on WP/tumblr, congrats on taking the exam!!! I was really surprised that you thought it was pretty straightforward, here in Egypt whenever anyone mentions the USMLE, all you hear are horror stories of its complexity/impossibility (and that’s only when anyone’s even heard of it). I was beginning to believe that I’ll be stuck here forever haha… Well, your exam experience sounds like it went very well. Congrats again, you should be really proud because this is a huge accomplishment, and I hope there’ll be even better news when your score arrives! There’s nothing better than effort and hard work rewarded. Keep at it and good luck on CK 🙂

    • Thanks a lot. It wasn’t really a smooth journey, at least not until the last month. I was really scared and thought I’d never make it, but in the last month, my self-assessment exams predicted scores of 98-99, so I was put at ease since then. In general, it’s not a very difficult exam; just needs good preparation, and the earlier you start the better. Anyway, hope you’re having a good time in med school 🙂

  2. I came across your blog while reading about medical schools in Egypt. While I found those posts hilarious (and true), I wondered whether you’d come and equate your degree in the U.S. By the looks of it, it seems that’s your step now. As I’m aspiring to do somewhat the same thing, I’ve learned a bit about the process. Obviously, you have to take the USMLE. But how do you even start the process? Does the US process your transcripts first, your licensing from Egypt, or what? Thanks in advance, and I hope your journey is a successful one. Out of curiosity, have you decided what fields in medicine you’d like to go into?

    • Hi there,

      Thanks for your interest in my articles. They’re as painful to read as they are funny. I’ve actually gone a long way in the USMLE road. I passed Step 1, 2 CK, and 2 CS, and currently preparing for Step 3. I’m also applying for this year’s match (ERAS/NRMP) in search for a residency in the US.

      You start the process by signing up in ECFMG.org. After that you apply for an exam. Most often people begin with Step 1. You will pay the application fees only, and then you will have to print out an application form, and have a medical school official sign it for you, after which you will need to send that form by MAIL to USA. After that you can sit for the exam.

      It’s a long journey and it needs that you be very well-informed in order to score well in the exam and successfully complete the whole process. You should start by visiting ECFMG and signing up there (https://secure2.ecfmg.org/emain.asp?app=iwa) and you may also post in these USMLE forums for help (http://www.usmle-forums.com/) – people are very helpful there.

      Hope this helps.

      • Thank you so much for the information. Looks like I’ve a got a long road ahead of me. But I guess the first step for me would be to educate myself about the process a bit more. I wish you all the best, and I’ll continue following your blog to see where this journey takes you!

        I’d like to note that I don’t think your posts are at all painful to read.

Leave a Reply

